Pastels and Drawing

I recently talked about not feeling inspired to write. I took a 6 week course on The Foundations of Drawing’ with an amazing teacher, Carolyn Sheather, who is patient, energetic, passionate, addicted to the art of drawing and art in all forms.

(Her Ebook is here!!! Go to the link and read her knowledge in print- amazing woman!! http://www.howtodrawtheartistsway.com/ and read her blog at http://sketchbookstories.com/. Enjoy!

When the course finished I was desperate to continue studying, but wasn’t very keen to start Pastels with the rest of the group (who had been doing pastels for ages and had only taken the 6 week course to fine tune their skills), thinking that ‘pastels’ meant ‘pale, wishy washy’ colours (which isn’t me at all!).

But swept up by Carolyn’s passion and the classes ‘no, no’ response, I decided to give it a try, what could it hurt, right?!

Well, now I’m addicted too.

The colours, so vibrant, alive and ‘yummy’ to work with, pull you in!

The way the spread, smooth and responsive, is awe- inspiring.

Here is Pastel Number 3 (ok, Carolyn helped with this one) and the next picture is Pastel Number 12 which I am very proud of because (1) I didnt want to do animals at all, (2) I did this (except the shadow which Carolyn lengthened only) all by myself!! So like all good things, they take time and practise, and while I know I won’t get everything right every time, I’m really enjoying the journey, harnessing that Dragon of Self Doubt!!

Thanks for reading!!

About juliehyndman

Writing, poetry, art and life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pastels and Drawing

  1. EllaDee says:

    Love the colurs in Pastel Number 3, and Pastel Number 12 is fantasti. I love the detail, colours and the expression in her eye 🙂

    • allpoetryandcreativewriting says:

      So glad you like it, EllaDee!! I love drawing, would love to draw all day. I have the same enjoyment as I do when I write, how lucky am I!!
      The colours are sooo yummy to work with! Like you could pick them up and eat them, mmmmmmm!!
      🙂

  2. congratulations for finding another outlet for your creative. My struggle is the opposite, not so much a lack of inspiration but rather the sheer overwhelming volume of stuff that flows to me.

    • allpoetryandcreativewriting says:

      Rodney, I’m finding the same at the moment and not enough time to reply to the lovely people who ‘follow’ me!!! Sometimes, the more you write, the more you write!!!!! Am I right???? Thanks for leaving a comment :))))

      • allpoetryandcreativewriting says:

        Thank you and welcome to all my new ‘likers’ and followers- you rock!!!!! See you next post!!

    • Hey Rodney…it’s your old mate Roni :)) you just never know where paths will cross do you?? That amazing teacher that Julie so eloquently praises, (justifiably & deservedly so I might add) is my sister….what a small world it is! Miss our banter, but a new surge is approaching….in October :)) cheers & love Roni xx
      ps…awesome work Julie, looking forward to seeing you too!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hey Girlfriend…Thankyou for your kind thoughts and words. Roni just found this post and filled me in. You are very sweet to say…(and honest of course), looking forward to our next ‘Playing with Pastels’ session in down town Noosa…
    Ciao

    • allpoetryandcreativewriting says:

      Love your sessions Carolyn!!! You feed the inner creative ‘thing’!!!! “The creative adult is the child that survived’- so true!!

Please Leave a Reply